Nizz SkyWalker
Nizz SkyWalker
Participant
Postcount 27

Yo! Check this out! The thing that screams to me the most from this is the fact that it has been purposeful to force us into shutting down focus on one side of the brain or the other! So, the reason why I decided to go into teaching was actually for writing…I wanted to teach creative writing. Once I started learning all of the core subjects, I learned them with a new pair of eyes. I just wanted to learn. So, in a way, I took from these classes powerful knowledge because of the fact that I was so eager to learn and everything is connected.

Anyways, I thought it would be cool to be able to teach a little bit of all the subjects, so I looked into elementary teaching. Around this time, I came across some research that showed; by the age of 14 our brain no longer simultaneously transfers between the right and left hemispheres. It settles into right or left. The majority of people are right handed and that dominates the left hemisphere. So, obviously left hand dominates right side of the brain. So, this article talks about the importance of children to work over their midline.

Why Crossing the Midline Activities Helped this Child Listen to his Teacher

If you’re not sure what that means, it’s basically doing activities that keep the simultaneous interaction between the right and left hemispheres by doing activities with both the right and left sides of the body, then crossing them over (the mid line) an making connections for more brain stimulation.